Music Monday: “Time Flies” (Electric)

Get “Time Flies” on iTunes or Amazon.

A few weeks ago, we posted the acoustic version of “Time Flies” for Music Monday, but I had to point to the full-band electric version (from 2014’s Right Now) as well, because there is so much about this version that blows me away.  I’ve got 3 highlights for you:

1. Dan Pawlovich – When I listen to anything from Right Now, I’m still kind of amazed that we managed to get drummer Dan Pawlovich to do this record.  The guy is incredible!  He is so expressive on the kit, and has such a great knack for knowing what’s right for a particular song.  He kills it here on “Time Flies.”  [If you want to hear more from Dan, he’s now drumming for Panic at the Disco, and you can check him out on their new record]

2. Rachel Minton – My wife and I are both huge fans of Rachel’s band Zolof the Rock and Roll Destroyer – we were in the live audience when Zolof performed on MTV as part of the Dew Circuit Breakout back in 2006.  I’ve been incredibly fortunate to have Rachel lend her voice to several Kiera Plan songs, and “Time Flies” might be my favorite.  When Rachel comes in during the second verse, despite having heard this song several hundred times, I still have a “That’s Rachel from Zolof!  Oh, my goodness, that’s RACHEL FROM ZOLOF!!!” moment.  Every time.

3. J.J. Davis – Keyboardist J.J. Davis had been a part of the Kiera Plan even before 2009’s Dedication was released.  There were several acoustic shows where TKP was just me and Jay.  I knew from hearing his original music that he is just incredibly creative and adventurous on those keys.  So, for album 2, I knew I wanted to get him recorded for posterity.  I gave him what I had for “Time Flies” and asked him for a big key solo for the bridge – I wanted to really feature J.J., and every time we get to that bridge solo, with everything going, and the synth just ablaze with what Jay is laying down – I just love it!

TKP JJ Shawn NorthStar

l-r: J.J. Davis, Shawn Mocey @The North Star Bar in Philly back in 2013

I feel really lucky to have had these amazing people involved with this music, and I hope you’ll enjoy “Time Flies” as much as I do.

For a visual, check out the lyric video:

Hope you all have a great week!

Shawn

Leave a Reply

