Music Monday: “It Only Takes One”

Get “It Only Takes One” on iTunes or Amazon.

Short and sweet – that was the goal here.  When drummer John Collier and I put together “It Only Takes One” we were hoping to deliver a full song worth of energy in something like half the time.  At 1:43, 2 verses, 3 choruses, and 1 bridge, I feel like we did it.

studio7 john  jan2008

Drummer John Collier in the studio back in Jan. 2008

Why shoot for that, right?  Take your time fellas.

The thing is, I remember hearing “Argh I’m a Pirate” by Zolof the Rock and Roll Destroyer, clocking in around just 2 minutes, and I couldn’t stop listening to it.  I was playing this track 3 or 4 times at a shot.  I figured there had to be something to that.


This would have been 2005, and my introduction to Zolof.  So, by the time John and I were ready to hit the studio to start making the first Kiera Plan record,  I was a huge Zolof fan.  So, to get to record with Vince Ratti, guitarist from Zolof, and to have Vince and Zolof singer Rachel Minton perform with us on that first record – it was just incredible!

More on those guest appearances later.  For now, I just hope you enjoy “It Only Takes One” and that maybe you listen to it 3 or 4 times at a shot.

🙂

Shawn

 

Leave a Reply

